Peak District National Park Authority

Tel: 01629 816200 Fax: 01629 816310

E-mail: customer.service@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Web: www.peakdistrict.gov.uk Minicom: 01629 816319

Aldern House . Baslow Road . Bakewell . Derbyshire . DE45 1AE



MINUTES

Meeting: National Park Authority Extraordinary Meeting

Date: 8 September 2014 at 10.30am

Venue: Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, Derbyshire

Chair: CIr Mrs L Roberts

Present: Mr P Ancell, Clr D Birkinshaw, Clr P Brady, Clr C Carr, Clr D Chapman,

CIr C Furness, CIr D Greenhalgh, Mr Z Hamid, CIr P Harrison, CIr Mrs N Hawkins, CIr A McCloy, Mr G Nickolds, CIr Mrs K Potter, CIr Mrs J Twigg,

and Clr D Williams

Apologies for absence: Mrs F Beatty Clr G Claff, Clr A Favell, Clr Mrs H Gaddum, Clr Mrs G

Heath, Clr H Laws, Ms S McGuire, Clr S Marshall-Clarke and Ms E Sayer.

PART A

38/14 MEMBERS DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

39/14 4 CHIEF EXECUTIVE SALARY REVIEW (A.12001/RMM)

The meeting considered a report from the Director of Corporate Resources asking Members to consider the salary of the Chief Executive post prior to recruitment to the impending vacancy following the resignation of the current postholder.

To facilitate the review the Local Government Association (LGA) had been commissioned to carry out an external independent review which benchmarked the existing salary against the current market to establish the level of remuneration which would attract the best candidates with the skills and experience needed to lead the strategic direction of the Authority and respond to future challenges. Martin Denny from the LGA Workforce Consultancy was present to introduce the report and answer any questions about the recommendations.

It was noted that the Resource Management Team were in the process of developing the 2015/16 budget and the mechanism for funding any increase would be identified as part of this process.

A motion to approve the recommendation was moved, seconded, put to the vote and carried unanimously.

RESOLVED:

To accept the recommendation of the independent report in Appendix 1 of the report to place the Chief Executive post on a 3 point salary band from £80,000 to £85,000 subject to a revised role description being approved and being effective from the appointment of the new postholder.

40/14 4 RECRUITMENT TO POST OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE(A.12001/RMM/TR)

The meeting considered the joint report from the Director of Corporate Resources and the Head of Human Resources setting out the proposed recruitment process to be used to appoint a new Chief Executive following the resignation of the current postholder. The process would involve establishing a Member Recruitment Panel, to be chaired by the Chair of Authority, with the aim of making a recommendation on the preferred candidate to the meeting of the Authority to be held on 5 December 2014.

In introducing the report the Director of Corporate Resources proposed that an additional recommendation be added to authorise the Head of Human Resources to put in place appropriate arrangements in the event of their being a gap between the current postholder leaving and the new appointment commencing. It was also proposed that paragraph 10 of the report be amended to suggest that a minimum of 7 Members were needed to run the proposed assessment centre.

During the discussion an amendment to recommendation 2 was moved and seconded proposing that recommendation 2 be amended to add the words "and after appropriate consultation with all Members". The aim of the amendment was to give all Members an opportunity to consider and comment on the revised role description before it was approved. The amendment was put to the vote and approved. It was noted that in order to meet the timescales set out in the report Members would be given a limited timeframe in which to respond to the draft document.

Members also discussed the composition of the Members' Recruitment Panel. A motion was moved, seconded, out to the vote and carried which set the membership at 8 Members with 4 Local Authority Members, 2 Parish Members and 2 Secretary of State Members. In determining the appointments it was agreed unanimously that the current Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority should be appointed to the Panel. As there were no further Secretary of State nominations it was also agreed that Mr P Ancell be appointed as the second Secretary of State Member.Cllr P Brady and Cllr A McCloy were nominated to the one remaining Parish Member position. Following a vote Cllr A McCloy was appointed to the Panel. Initially five local authority Members, Cllr D Chapman, Cllr D Birkinshaw, Cllr A Favell, Cllr C Furness and Cllr D Greenhalgh were nominated for the four remaining places. But before a vote was taken Cllr D Birkinshaw withdrew his nomination and as there were no further nominations the four remaining Local Authority Members were appointed.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That, having noted the resignation of the current post holder, the Authority proceeds to appoint to the full time post of Chief Executive, on an updated role description, at the salary grade agreed in minute number 39/14.
- 2. That a revised role description be approved by the Head of Human Resources in consultation with the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority and after appropriate consultation with all Members
- 3. That the recruitment process outlined in principle and already started under delegated powers be agreed.

4. To appoint a Members' Recruitment Panel, chaired by the Chair of the Authority and consisting of a total of 8 Members: 4 Local Authority Members, 2 Parish Members and 2 Members appointed by the Secretary of State as follows:

Local Authority	Parish Members	Secretary of State
Cllr D Chapman	Cir A McCloy	Mr P Ancell
Clir A Favell	Cllr Mrs L Roberts	Mr G Nickolds
Cllr C Furness		
Clir D Greenhalgh		

5. That in the event of a gap between the leaving date of the current Chief Executive and the start date of a new appointment the Head of Human Resources be authorised to approve and implement interim arrangements following consultation with the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority.

The meeting ended at 11.35am.